Sometimes You Need Pants Too

9 Feb

Alright, bear with me as I share yet another Craftsy bargain.  I swear I don’t get any money from them! In fact, they keep luring my money away from me with these awesome classes…

So today, the discount is for another couture-level class(!). This one is Jean-ius: Reverse Engineer Your Favorite Fit. The class is 50% off, making it quite irresistible to my bargain-loving soul. The course covers how to draft a pattern from a pair of pants which already fit well. You don’t have to deconstruct the garment to create your pattern (shoo!).

I’ll be interested to try this one out.  I tend to wear dresses and skirts a lot, but that’s partly because finding pants that fit is quite a challenge.  I’m sure no one else can relate to that. ;)  So the idea of making my own pants to fit these long legs is appealing.  I’m curious to learn his techniques for a good fit — commercial patterns for pants have generally intimidated me because I know there’s a lot of room for error on those.  So using a pair that fits from the get go seems much more logical to me.

I’m also intrigued to learn how one can draft a pattern to duplicate an existing garment.  Imagine the possibilities! I could repro any of my favorite garments. That has always been a fantasy of mine. No more dilemmas about how much to wear a certain item in case it wears out.

And thus my Make It List grows longer…

One Response to “Sometimes You Need Pants Too”

  1. Tina in Boston February 9, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Hey Anna! It is $79.99 right now. I suppose I missed the sale. I’ll keep an eye on it, though!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

