Dreaming of a 1950s dress

8 Jan

Last month, I mysteriously began fantasizing about sewing and wearing a 1950s style dress. The fitted bodice! The narrow waist! The full skirt! The 3/4 sleeves! The yards and yards and yards of fabric!

Wherever did this daydream come from?

Actually, it wasn’t really that mysterious considering the fact that White Christmas is my favorite holiday movie and that movie is chock-full of the post-WWII, “New Look” era silhouettes: fitted bodices and cinched waists paired with either a narrow pencil skirt or a full, flared skirt & petticoats. This silhouette differed significantly from the 1940s and generally is attributed to Christian Dior’s post-war fashion collection in 1947. Thank you, Mr. Dior!

What’s lovely about all this is that I discovered another vintage clothing lover/sewer’s blog: Edelweiss Patterns. She made a beautiful blue dress that closely matches the dress I was dreaming of. This Butterick Retro 5556 project is definitely going on the list of “To Do’s”! I envision making it in a hardier fabric than silk since I’d like to be able to wear it to work. The diagonal plaid fabric that Butterick used in the sample dress is really nice, but I can’t imagine matching all those lines across the seams…

3 Responses to “Dreaming of a 1950s dress”

  1. Brooke February 27, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    I love retro styles too – especially 50’s dresses! (I was lucky to have a client who wanted a 50’s style wedding dress a little over a year ago, and I had a blast making it for her.)

    Right now (aside from the 1912 project), I’m working on a pile of random projects but one is for myself – I want a new banner and avatar for my blog, so I need a new retro fifties dress of course!

    I really like your blog, but I would love to see pictures with your links. =) You could even link your pictures so they are clickable back to the source.

    • annabez June 12, 2012 at 12:42 am #

      Hi Brooke! Thanks for reading this blog and for your feedback. I definitely want to add more pictures, but I’m still figuring this blogging project out. I think the design I’m using right now makes it very difficult to add pictures. It took a ridiculous amount of time to get the brooch pic to post! I’ll have to investigate this further since a sewing blog must have pics.

      I hope you have some fun summer projects lined up for yourself!

  2. Brooke June 12, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Maybe the support files WordPress put together will help you with that – it’s easiest to insert pictures from your blog’s dashboard and here’s the help file specifically about inserting an image.

    I taught myself how to do all the technical stuff by using the support search and forums. And I can help you find any answers if you get stuck – just let me know, I’d be glad to help you. =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

